Financial Empowerment Webinars

Testimonial

Assisting survivors to understand the implications of how to begin to rebuild her credit, saving for the future and where to find on-going support can make the difference between building financial stability and a survivors returning to her abuser."

DID YOU KNOW?

84% of spouse abuse victims are women.

Please join The Allstate Foundation and NNEDV for our webinars series where you'll be able to expand your knowledge of important financial topics throughout Domestic Violence Awareness Month and Financial Literacy Month. Listen, learn, ask questions and interact with our expert presenters. Follow the link below each session to register. If you are not able to join us live or want to re-visit the session later, each webinar will be available for download as a podcast.

NEW webinar series underway…check back soon!

2012 Career Empowerment Curriculum webinar series
The series consists of five webinars designed to help you provide high-quality career development support to survivors of domestic violence. Each of the webinars will cover one of the modules in the Career Empowerment Curriculum. We will provide you with ideas about how to most effectively facilitate the training module, describes the overall flow of the module and the purpose of each segment of the training, and familiarizes you with the nuances of the module content. You will leave each webinar with ideas about how to create a safe, interactive, and effective learning experience for survivors and with answers to your questions about the module.

Being Safe During the Job Search and at Work  May 2, 2012: 3pm ET, 2pm CT, 1pm MT, 12pm PT
Choosing and Planning for the Career You Want May 9, 2012: 3pm ET, 2pm CT, 1pm MT, 12pm
Getting Started in Your Career May 16, 2012: 3pm ET, 2pm CT, 1pm MT, 12pm PT
Preparing for Your Job Search May 23, 2012: 3pm ET, 2pm CT, 1pm MT, 12pm PT
Sharing Information and Communication throughout the Job Search and at Work May 30, 2012:3pm ET, 2pm CT, 1pm MT, 12pm PT

2012 Financial Literacy Month Webinar Series
Moving Ahead Through Financial Management: Modules 1-5


Module 1 - Financial Abuse and Safety
Signs of financial abuse - Keeping safe - Disclosing abuse
Module 2 – Budgeting
Basic financial management concepts - Budgeting basics & saving strategies - Identifying income and assets - Managing debt
Module 3 – Credit  
Accessing and review a credit report - Factors that impact a credit report and score - Strategies to improve credit score
Module 4 - Loans
Difference between various loans - Understanding the loan process
Module 5 - Planning for the Future
Short & Long Term Saving strategies - Investment options - Insurance coverage